Guest Post: Mazie Bishop – Being A NaNoWriMo ML

It was a rainy afternoon in August when I received the email from the lovely staff at NaNoWriMo. The email was regarding my application to be a Municipal Liaison for my region of Niagara, an application that I sent the day after NaNoWriMo 2013. I think it was more exciting to me because it had been so long since I applied that I completely forgot of the possibilities. But now that the possibility has become the reality, there are a lot of responsibilities.

Being an ML means my awesome partner Christine Banman and I get to plan the regional events and organize write-ins for our Niagara participants. It also means that we get to organize online word sprints, discussions on the forums and basically just make sure that everyone is having a pleasant November.

What surprised me most, when I first started everything was how much preparation really goes into planning the events, and how much the staff at NaNoWriMo are actually there to help you. We have our own helpful forums, with all kinds of resources and ideas. We have a great guide that covers everything from writing an email to handling stressed-out participants.

Am I nervous? Yes! Who wouldn’t be? This is the first time in a few years that Niagara has had an ML, never mind two of us! There is a lot of pressure on us to make sure that this month goes smoothly for everyone, but my excitement overrules my nerves almost completely. I am so excited that I get to meet all of these writers and that I get to contribute to their success, and give them more opportunities in our region than they have had in any other year.

I would honestly recommend applying to become a Municipal Liaison of your region to anyone who likes to meet new people and to anyone who has passion for writing and community. It gets a little stressful sometimes, but it’s all worth it when you see how many people you are helping out.

As it stands right now, we are hosting 3 large events throughout the month, as well as hosting 5+ write-ins a week! In my region there is a University and a College and my goal is to host write-ins on campus and to spread awareness for this amazing organization and community.

NaNoWriMo warms my cold autumn hands and gives me an excuse to make time to write and honestly it has bettered my life, so I think that’s why I love being an ML so much. It means that I can help more people better their lives through writing too.

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………

Mazie Bishop shares her NaNoWriMo Municipal Liaison story at www.sprintshack.wordpress.com.ABOUT MAZIE

Mazie Bishop is a fiery 22 year-old writer and journalism student from Canada. Self-published as well as has several poems and short fiction pieces published in various anthologies and magazines. She is a big dreamer that hopes to be writing with the big guys some day and cannot wait for her career to start! Currently she is in the process of writing her second novel and is in the outlining stages of a quarter-life memoir. You can read about her little crafty adventures and read her work or gander at her photos on www.theselittlepieces.com.

2 thoughts on “Guest Post: Mazie Bishop – Being A NaNoWriMo ML

  1. Pingback: Happy Birthday to Us: The Sprint Shack Turns 2 Today! | The Sprint Shack

  2. Pingback: NaNoWriMo Prep: 8 Things to Do Before NaNoWriMo Starts | The Sprint Shack

Leave a Reply

