Happy New Year! – Our 2015 Writing Resolutions

Happy holidays, and a belated Happy New Year from all of us at The Sprint Shack! As we were last year, we’re here to share our resolutions for 2015 with you and encourage you to set (and meet!) your own. This time, we’re reflecting on the past year and the resolutions we made on this very blog twelve months ago.

Cristina’s Writing goals for 2015

  • Finish the first draft of a WIP (Fleeting OR Underground) and send to beta readers
  • Develop a more regular blogging schedule
  • Fix up short story “The Spread” and pursue publication

Cristina’s Reflection

Cristina GuarinoIt seems like 2014 was a hard year for everyone. Like we mentioned in our post on Career vs. Creativity, all three of us went through major changes this year that affected our writing habits and productivity. I won’t rehash my excuses, because even though they were legitimate disruptions, they still feel like just that–excuses. But what I do know is that if it weren’t for the fact that I achieved quite a few things this year, one of which being a 42-link Write Chain (a big deal for me!), I’d be feeling like a bit of a failure right now.

As of this time last year, my optimism was soaring. The Sprint Shack was a few months old and thriving. I had just written a short story I was proud of, gotten great feedback from my beta readers Faye and Taylor, and was on my way to eventually obtaining professional feedback from the editor of a recognized literary journal. I was contributing to several online and print publications and was thriving at my job. I had a new, albeit rough, manuscript under my belt thanks to NaNoWriMo. I was more involved in the Twitter writing community than ever.

So it seemed like no great challenge for me to achieve my three main writing goals: To get “The Spread” published, to finish the first draft of my long-time WIP Fleeting, and to wrap up and edit my new NaNo novel Underground and eventually send it off for beta reads. Unfortunately, thanks to the aforementioned disruptions,  I met none of those goals. I hope to change that this year with my goals listed above.

Taylor’s Writing Goals for 2015

  • Write at least 5 pieces per week (flash fiction or blog post)
  • Independently publish at least 2 books/projects this year
  • Make writing a priority and develop it into a career

Taylor’s Reflection

Taylor EatonI won’t lie, 2014 was a trying year for my writing. I’ve taken a peek at my resolutions for 2014, and found that I fell a bit short of my goals. That’s not to say it was all bad – I added an extra weekly story to my site, Little Write Lies, and have successfully posted 2 stories each week! I also wrote and published (with help from Cristina and Faye!) my first collection of flash fiction, The Suicide of the Moon.

Why 2014 was so difficult for me, was that partway through the year I had a career change. With my new job, I found myself with less energy and time to write. So my writing goals took a backseat as I adjusted to my new work hours and demands. If 2014 taught me anything about my writing, it’s this: writing is what I love to do and it should not take a back seat. Not even to my career (considering that I want writing to be my career, and not what I currently do from 8-5 every day). Life is short, and I want to write. 2015 is the year I get my butt in gear and start writing more.


Faye’s Writing Goals for 2015:

  • Continue my Write Chain and write at least one page of fiction every day
  • Finish editing my steampunk work-in-progress, Her Clockwork Heart, and send it to beta readers

Faye’s Reflection

Faye Kirwin2014 has been a year of ups and downs in terms of my writing. One of my proudest achievements of the year is producing a page of fiction every day without fail, which taught me that it is possible to make writing part of my daily routine. Because of that experience, I was also able to write and launch my very first e-course, the Writember Workshop: 30 Days to Make Writing a Habit, and start taking myself seriously as a writer.

I feel incredibly fortunate to have met so many inspiring people, all with a similar goal: to write and move one step closer to a finished novel each day, every day. I may not have accomplished each goal I set myself at the start of 2014, but because of their help, I’ve been able to achieve so much more than I would have done otherwise. Now my goal is to continue focusing on the daily stuff in 2015 and make this my best year yet for writing.


What are your resolutions for 2015? Did you meet your goals for 2014? What do you plan on doing differently? Let’s talk!

4 thoughts on “Happy New Year! – Our 2015 Writing Resolutions

  1. Pingback: Hello, 2015! |

  2. I think just being able to make more time for writing is a fantastic goal to have. My Main goal is to plan ahead. As someone who blogs regularly for different businesses I so regularly find myself hitting the proverbial brick wall and wondering whether what I’m going to write something that is A) going to make sense and B) going to be useful/interesting particularly after creating pieces for over a year. I’ve found a content calendar helps, knowing what I want to write about and when helps me to maintain focus!

    • Agreed, Maria! I use the program Evernote to organize my ideas so that when it comes time for me to sit down and write, I have what I need at my fingertips. Making time to actually sit down and write is one of the hardest things to do though, which is why SO many people talk about it and resolve to do it!

      Let’s make it happen this year! ;)

  3. Pingback: Revive Your Writing Resolutions with S.M.A.R.T. Goals! | The Sprint Shack

Leave a Reply

