How to Keep Writing Even After NaNoWriMo’s Over

How to Keep Writing Even After NaNoWriMo: Here are two places to find motivation and support, even after NaNoWriMo has come to a close | www.sprintshack.wordpress.comNovember is always a whirlwind month for me. With the mountainous goal of 50,000 words to reach, two blogs to write for, and a plethora of word sprints to host (though the sprinting certainly helps with those first two), it can feel as though I have no time for anything other than NaNoWriMo. But once December arrives…

Silence. (Can you hear the crickets?)

Suddenly, all those hours spent frantically cramming words onto a page as I try to reach my quota aren’t necessary. The looming deadline of November 30th has passed. The pressure to carve out time for writing each day is gone. So where do I get my motivation from now?

Does this situation sound familiar? Don’t worry. Just because NaNoWriMo is over doesn’t mean there’s nothing to keep pushing you forward. Here are two places you can find the motivation and support to keep writing, even after November becomes a fun (and very frazzled) memory.

Word Sprinting

NaNoWriMo may be over for another year but the sprints certainly aren’t! The Sprint Shack hosts word wars throughout the week, all year round, come rain or shine. Here’s an overview of our regularly held events.

Word Scrimmage

When is it? Held from 10-10:30 p.m. GMT / 5-5:30 p.m. EST / 2-2:30 p.m. PST, every Monday and Wednesday
Hashtag to follow? #Wordscrim

TNightSprints

When is it? Held from 2-3 a.m. GMT / 9-10 p.m. EST / 6-7 p.m. PST, every Tuesday and Thursday
Hashtag to follow? #TNightSprints

Tales And Tea

When is it? Held from 4-6 p.m. GMT / 11 a.m. – 1 p.m. EST / 8-10 a.m. PST, every Saturday
Hashtag to follow? #TalesAndTea

Sunday Scribes

When is it? Held from 6-7 p.m. GMT / 1-2 p.m. EST / 10-11 a.m. PST, every Sunday
Hashtag to follow? #SundayScribes

Our regularly hosted events take place at the same time every week, which means you can drop by then for a guaranteed sprint. Keep your eye on our Twitter account outside of these times too, as we often host spontaneous sprints whenever one of the Sprint Shack ladies has a free moment and a manuscript open!

For a full break-down of our sprinting schedule and the writing events held by our wordy comrades across the Twitterverse, check out the Upcoming Sprints page. If you ever find yourself in need of a push towards writing, join us for a sprint or two and watch as your word count soars!

The Write Chain Challenge

If your goal is to make writing into a habit, something you do on a day-to-day basis even outside of NaNoWriMo, then come join my Write Chain Challenge. The rules are simple: set yourself a goal and write it each day. For every day you reach your goal, you earn a link. When you reach your goal for several days in a row, these links form a chain, but skip a day and the streak you’ve built up breaks. Your incentive? Don’t break the chain.

What makes the Write Chain Challenge an ideal post-NaNoWriMo challenge is its flexibility. Your daily goal can be anything (a word count, a page count, a certain amount of time to write for, and so on), involve any part of the writing process (writing, editing, plotting, etc.), and can be for any project you care to work on (fiction, non-fiction, poetry or a script, to name but a few). Pick a goal you know you can easily reach each day, join the Write Chain community, and make writing an integral part of your life.

Are you serious about making writing into a habit? Then you’re my kind of person. I’d like to invite you to take part in my upcoming programme, the Writember Workshop, a 30 day e-course in which I take you through the top four obstacles that stop people forming a writing habit and give you the tools needed to overcome them.

Want to learn a little more about the course? You can check out what’s included on the Writember Workshop page here.

Whether you word sprint with the Shack, join the Write Chain Challenge or Writember Workshop, or decide to go it alone, keep on writing, even after NaNoWriMo has finished. Use the momentum you’ve gained, gather together some extra incentive, and write to your heart’s content.

Good luck.

~

What do you struggle with most when trying to keep writing after NaNoWriMo?

Advertisements

One thought on “How to Keep Writing Even After NaNoWriMo’s Over

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s