Sprint Watch! Where to Word Sprint this Camp NaNoWriMo

The halfway point of Camp NaNoWriMo approaches! Whether you’re on track, storming ahead or playing catch-up, there’s one thing that can give your word count a super-boost. Yep, you guessed it: the word sprint. There are so many of them going down this month that you’ll be spoilt for choice.

Here’s a recap of the various word sprinting events scheduled on Twitter this Camp NaNoWriMo. Some are planned, others spontaneous. Some are long, some are short. Some are recurring, while others are one-offs. Take your pick, write up a storm and, most importantly, enjoy yourself!


PLANNED SPRINTS

These events have been planned in advance, with their start and stop times predetermined. Some are one-off events, just for Camp, and others happen all year round. See if any take your fancy and let us know if you’re going to take part!

Camp NaNoWriMo and the #NaNoThon

What: Prepare yourself for an epic 8-hour writing marathon, courtesy of NaNoWriMo. Those word counts don’t stand a chance.

Where: Follow the #NaNoThon hashtag on Twitter for word sprint start and stop times and to report your word counts!

When: Saturday, April 12, from:

United Kingdom: 5 p.m. to 1 a.m.
US East Coast: 12 noon to 8 p.m.
US West Coast: 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.

Sprint Shack and the #TalesAndTea Party

What: You are cordially invited to our weekly word party, where we drink cup upon cup of delicious beverages (tea, coffee, the purest water from an enchanted spring—take your pick), eat scrumptious treats, and write many, many words. Sprints last for 20 minutes, with 10 minute breaks in between.

Where: Hosted by @TheSprintShack, you can follow the word sprint start and stop times and report your word counts using the #TalesAndTea hashtag.

When: Saturdays, all year round, from:

United Kingdom: 4 p.m. to 6 p.m.
US East Coast: 11 a.m. to 1 p.m.
US West Coast: 8 a.m. to 10 a.m.

Friday Night Writes and #WriteClub

What: Every week, the doors to #WriteClub open, the writers of the world flood in, and the words flow out. Sprints last for 30 minutes, with 10 minute breaks in between, and run for a whopping (almost) 24 hours!

Where: Stay up-to-date with all the #WriteClub action using this hashtag and follow the host, @FriNightWrites, for sprint start and stop times.

When: Fridays, all year round, from:

United Kingdom: 8 a.m. to 12 p.m. and 5 p.m. to 7 a.m.
US East Coast: 3 a.m. to 7 a.m. and 12 p.m. to 2 a.m.
US West Coast: 12 a.m. to 6 a.m. and 9 a.m. to 11 p.m.

Remember: you don’t have to take part in the full length of the word sprinting events (e.g. if you join in #WriteClub, you don’t have to write for nearly 24 hours). Dip in and out as time and life allows!


SPONTANEOUS SPRINTS

These sprints are often spur of the moment, unplanned events. The start and stop times are announced by the host a short while in advance, so keep an eye out for them by searching for ongoing sprints using the popular sprinting hashtags listed on the Sprinting Resources page and following the frequent sprint-meisters listed below.

@TheSprintShack
@NaNoWordSprints
@GetWordies
@NaNoPals

For more word sprinters, check out the Notable Sprinters page, and let us know if you spot any other frequent sprint hosts or events on Twitter! We’d love to add them to our list.

~

Will you be taking part in any of these events, or hosting your own this Camp NaNoWriMo?

Advertisements

5 thoughts on “Sprint Watch! Where to Word Sprint this Camp NaNoWriMo

    • Woo! Saturday’s #TalesAndTea Party is our only regular sprinting event at the moment (the rest are spontaneous, as and when we’re at the computer sprints), but we may add some more regular sprinting events in future.

      Looking forward to sprinting with you this month! :)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s